A Switch in the Arctic: TLDR Help me preserve this thing!

Junkerman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 6

So I work in the Arctic flying in Twin Otters around -40 and colder conditions; I'd love to take my Nintendo Switch along on these trips for periods of downtime but I'm afraid of the cold just obliterating the life of this thing.

I do run laptops and other fieldgear (poorly) in those conditions so I know they can still work, as its mostly the batteries that die on them and energy is not an issue with all the generators and battery banks I pack, but all that gear is also a little more rugged in its design.

Would having the Switch completely powered down during the travel/work day protect it from any damage or is the warming/cooling of this unit going to shorten its lifespan over time?

Thanks for your time technophiles!

BisonHero

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

I have no firsthand experience as I've never worked somewhere that cold, but after doing some very cursory research, isn't the cold always going to shorten the lifespan of pretty much all electronics you're bringing into that environment? Aside from running down the battery, the huge temperature variation of going from the outside cold to room temperature is going to cause some condensation within the device (unless your inside humidity is super low I guess), and some expansion/contraction of components. I can't speak to the Switch specifically, but at some point that's going to take a toll on the circuitboard, or fatigue some plastic somewhere, or something. I doubt the temperature would break the Switch within the first few months (this is literally a wild guess), but overall you're probably shortening the system's lifespan in some way.