A Jeans Buying Guide for Dan Ryckert (or You!)

• 83 results
Avatar image for dangerhelvetica
dangerhelvetica

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By dangerhelvetica

Dan Ryckert's been getting a lot of crap lately on Twitter since he's been talking about his difficulty in finding a new pair of jeans. But the truth is, finding a good-fitting pair of jeans isn't quite as simple as going to a store and finding something that just fits. I'm no expert, but I've spent some amount of time trying to find the right pair of jeans and learning the confusing industry terminology. There are a number of things to consider when making your purchase, so I'm going to break them down. #1 and #2 are essential, but the rest you can skip if you're in a hurry/don't care.

1) Fit

The first choice in jeans is your fit. Fit in jeans lingo has a specific meaning; the fit will basically determine how tight your jeans will be on your thighs and calves. For men, the names for the cut usually go from Skinny, to Slim, to Straight, to Classic (Regular), to Relaxed. These can range between putting your legs into a straw, to something like putting on a pair of Hammer pants. Levi's alone has 14 different types of fit for men. But if you just want a pair of jeans that'll probably fit and be comfortable, I think you'll probably be comfortable with Straight to Regular. But if things feel tight or too loose in your legs rather than your waist, try out a different fit. Fit can also determine where your jeans fall on your hips, referred to as the "rise". If your jeans feel a little low around your waist, aim for something described as medium or high rise.

2) Waist and inseam (34x30, etc)