Building an Arcade Cabinet (Updated: 01/19/14)

VannaDwight

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By VannaDwight

Hello everyone,

Building an arcade cabinet has been something I have been interested in doing for a long time, and finally it is time to start. For the cabinet I am planning on running a series of emulators as well as Steam. The emulators will all be made for arcade emulating and maybe some older console stuff (NES, SNES, Genesis etc.) and Steam will be running for arcade style game that are available on Steam (Rogue Legacy, Nighogg etc.) Over the next few weeks (maybe months) I will be writing about what I am doing, how things are going, things I would recommened and not reccommend doing as well and answering your questions about my build in this thread. I am by no means an expert at building cabinets but I will learn along the way and hopefully help, and convince, interested watchers to try it for themselves.

Thanks for checking in.

If anyone is interested in helping with artwork the thread can be found here.

Featured on the Community Spotlight

Update (01/19/14)

Finally! After waiting for a while my test controls, (Ordered from Ultimarc ) have made it to my house and I can start testing. First thing I had to do is collect everything I needed to build my test controls (Image 1). I measured out where I wanted things to go as far as a control layout (I'll get in to more detailed building techniques when I build the real board) mounted the buttons and joystick and set off to wiring (Image 2). The wiring I did rather quickly and sloppy, but when the final product is done I will make things a bit tidier. (Image 3, 4, 5) After a bit of control mapping using the iPAC software I was ready for testing. This step of testing was mainly for two reasons.

1. Can I get the buttons and joystick to work the way I want them to... (Yes, might take a bit more playing but I am happy so far)