Favorite Movies of 2019

dancecho

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By dancecho

List is subjective, blah blah blah, no one cares about the intro, let's just get to the list.

I've been making video countdowns every year since 2015 and editing them is always a blast. Here's the 2019 edition:

Now for the write up!

20. MIDSOMMAR

No Caption Provided

Ari Aster is quickly becoming one of the top horror directors today. How can such a bright movie be so creepy and dreadful? Also, I will now watch anything Florence Pugh is in.

2019 themes: bitches be crazy, cults, gaslighting, grief, toxic relationships

19. US

No Caption Provided

Although I prefer GET OUT for its simplicity and execution, Jordan Peele is going for some cool and interesting stuff here even if he doesn't quite stick the landing with all his ideas. This would actually make a killer double-feature with PARASITE.

2019 themes: class conflict, doppelgangers, family pride

18. PADDLETON

No Caption Provided

Netflix was too busy blowing the trumpets for Scorsese and Baumbach, their smaller movies like this got lost in the shuffle. Ray Romano is even better here than THE IRISHMAN!

2019 themes: dealing with death, feeling obsolete, grief, homoerotic undertones

17. LONG SHOT

No Caption Provided

This came and went pretty quickly in the theaters. Maybe it was too romcom-y for the guys and too Seth Rogan-y for the ladies? I'm in tune with both, so this was great for me.

2019 themes: girl pride, opposites attract

16. THE LIGHTHOUSE

No Caption Provided

aka BOOMER VS MILLENIAL

aka NOTHING GOOD CAN HAPPEN WHEN TWO MEN ARE TRAPPED IN A GIANT PHALLUS

This was a huge leap from THE WITCH (I refuse to spell it with two V's) in terms of film-making, acting, and entertainment. I hope Robert Eggers never makes a movie set in the present day.

2019 themes: gaslighting, generational conflict, homoerotic undertones

15. JOHN WICK: CHAPTER 3 - PARABELLUM

No Caption Provided