tfuhrman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By tfuhrman

Hey Everyone,

I am new to comics, know almost nothing about them when it comes to genres. I just read the Bloodborne comics and I enjoyed them. Now I want more, specifically, horror comics. The only thing I'd like to exclude would be superhero-horror stuff.

Any Suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Avatar image for themightyskullboy
TheMightySkullboy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Welcome to comics! They're pretty neat!

For horror comics, you can't go wrong with anything by Junji Ito - particularly Uzumaki or any of his short story collections. Highly recommended.
Joe Hill has a whole new line of horror comics published by DC called Hill House Comics. I've only read one issue of The Plunge, but have been meaning to go back to it.
Image, Dark Horse, and other smaller publishers have pretty robust slates of horror books. I can't personally recommend these as I haven't actually checked them out, but I hear good things about books like Little Bird, Ice Cream Man, Wytches, or Something is Killing the Children. If you're not totally against superhero horror stuff, I'm a big fan of Hellboy's B.P.R.D. book. It's slightly superhero-ish, but mostly about how the world is gradually taken over by Lovecraftian horror.
And then there's all the classic EC stuff - Tales from the Crypt, Vault of Horror, Creepy, Eerie, ect. These are mostly anthologies, so the quality isn't consistent, and they're often pretty cheesy, but the art is usually fantastic. They're classics for a reason.

My favorite book these days is Zander Cannon's Kaijumax from Oni Press. It's a book about a high-security prison for giant monsters. It's kind of cartoony, but is a great mix of comedy and drama with a lot of references to popular giant monsters of every genre.

I hope you find more books that you'll love!

Gyratyne

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers