#1 Posted by MrPilkington (1034 posts) -

Here's a question I have wondered and have been stressing out over recently as I am someone that tries to be responsible and keep track of my life and not just think "everything will work out". I'm a year away from graduation now. I graduate college Dec 2017. I have been able to keep student debt fairly low compared to many, since I went to a community college first and paid out of pocket from working and family help the best I can, but I currently have 26K in debt and by the time I graduate it'll be almost 30K (though it'll be lower since starting in January I'll be in a financially better position to start making payments on it during my last year of college). How bad is this? Is this the kind of debt that could cripple me or is it manageable? I've been working hard trying to hunt a job before I graduate and so far no luck, but I do have a year. My degree is in Dramatic Arts and Theatre with a concentration on Directing and Stagecraft which I know people say that degree isn't as favorable in the market today, but mine teaches me technical skills I can use anywhere really and ever since I started I have been working my butt off throughout my college career doing theatre work, gaining credits and building a resume and my friends who have graduated say I have a pretty good starter resume going. I tend to work all the time and this is something that's been in the back of my mind and is now becoming more in the forefront. Should I relax a little?

#2 Posted by SSully (5627 posts) -

The average student loan debt in the United States is about 40K, so you are below that. With that said, measuring the impact of your debt is relative to how much you make and what your expenses will be.