#1 Posted by pompouspizza (1556 posts) -

I have recently decided that I want to make the switch from IOS to Android. I'm switching from an IPhone 6 to a OnePlus 3 as I'm pretty bored of IOS and I already have an Ipad that does everything except the phone part. However, the one thing that really worries me is security.

Is there anything I should know about staying safe on Android? I don't even know if it is really something I should worry about but I have never used Android before so I'm used to the closed bubble of IOS.

Thanks in advance!

#2 Edited by Yesiamaduck (2539 posts) -

It's perfectly safe, if you're worried just don't install apps outside of the playstore and don't go on any websites you wouldn't with your PC. You have to enable your phones ability to download and install uncertified software so it's fairly difficult to download something malicious, not impossible, but difficult. A little bit of commonsense goes a long way.

#3 Posted by diz (1394 posts) -

Just make sure you get all the manufacturer's OS updates - I think One +3 might use Cyanogen. I have a One+ 1 ( I also have a 2, but the phone reception is shit so I don't use it) and the system updates are fairly regular. You can set up "App" access to the system quite easily, including hiding notifications. You can also see the sort of access being requested from apps before you install them. It seems fairly safe to me....

Good luck!

#4 Posted by MonkeyKing1969 (7512 posts) -

I have never had an issue with my Andorid phones. I think as with most devices, just being smart 99.5% of being safe.

#5 Posted by pompouspizza (1556 posts) -

@diz: Thanks a lot! I'm excited to make the switch. The plus 3 seems like a great phone for the price. I considered a Galaxy S7 but it's too expensive.

#6 Edited by Rorie (5672 posts) -

Some say that it's the finest technological achievement the human race has ever achieved. We've achieved what was formerly unachiveable, some say! Achieve with me.

Staff