Jazz music recommendations, please!

Quipido

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

So I will say this straight even if it's a bit dumb. I watched Whiplash recently, It's pretty fucking good. I am an amateur drum player myself, and I mean really amateur - I have my drum set, I took a year of lessons and now I can not afford it anymore so I just play along some tracks just for kicks. I have seen some jazz bands live and I loved it every time. The movie is terrific, it's obviously very focused on the drums and the music has incredible drive as a result. I got the OST.

Here is a sample if you want to give it a go. And another one because why not.

I want more. Preferably instrumental, but anything you might recommend, I will give an honest try.

Thanks!

STUVNING

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 12

#2  Edited By STUVNING
MeMonk

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Loading Video...
Loading Video...

Cowboy Bebop has some good Jazz

jiggajoe14

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 12

Charles Mingus - Mingus Ah Um is probably my favorite.

Quipido

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@stuvning: That was pretty amazing, I am difinetely exploring more of Brubeck's work. Thank you

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#6  Edited By Justin258

I've only barely listened to any jazz but I've had a Coltrane album sitting on my computer that I've listened to a few times. I was listening to it last night, actually.

Loading Video...

I found him a little easier to get into than Miles Davis. Again, I'm saying this as someone who has hardly listened to any jazz.

TOA_Doom

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#7  Edited By TOA_Doom

Well, on the topic of Mingus...

Loading Video...
Loading Video...

Then of course there is Miles Davis, always a classic. You've likely heard something by him at some point, but in all likelihood you have not heard Bitches Brew.