Less Known Aspects About Where You Live

JasonR86

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 17

User Lists: 5

Hey all. I live in Washington state where I work as a mental health therapist. In my job, I work with people who originate not only from different areas around the US, but around the world. Which has taught me that a lot of the assumptions I thought were obvious truisms aren't for a lot of people. For example, I just learned recently from a Syrian client that the idiom 'don't throw the baby out with the bathwater' isn't commonly used in the Middle East, at least from his experience. So I'm curious, what is something about where you live that is less known but you may have assumed was common knowledge?

One that I've learned from clients about Washington, that as a native Washingtonian I don't even give a second thought, is how wildly different Western Washington is from Eastern Washington. For those that don't know, Washington is broken up into three main sections, the islands and mainland on the western side and than the eastern side. The state is split by the Cascade Mountains.

So, climate-wise, Western Washington is a coastal climate. Our temperature ranges typically go from the mid-30's (Fahrenheit) to the mid-90's, depending on the season. We get mostly rain, a bit of snow from time to time (usually a good two-three weeks of snow), but a ton of just standard, grey and overcast with occasional sun breaks, and '40-50 degree weather. For about 6-7 months. Than our springs and summers are amazing. Than it's back to the '40-50 degree, grey with spots of sun weather. Eastern Washington is like a normal ass place, with normal ass seasons. Snow in the Winter. Hot as hell in the Summer. It's a rural area without the impact of the Pacific Ocean causing the coastal climate.