Me and my 2 roommates are trying to move to the Bay Area

Avatar image for sathingtonwaltz
SathingtonWaltz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

Just like the title says we're trying to move to the CA Bay Area as close to San Francisco as possible. I have family (my entire fathers side) that live there, but my roommates and I have no experience or knowledge of the area. How viable is it to live out there? Are there any places we should avoid? Where's a good place to live that's not too expensive and in a decent area? Any other suggestions would be very appreciated!

Animasta

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 5

All I know is living in SF proper is stupid expensive.

SathingtonWaltz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@animasta: Yeah, I'm aware of that. We don't expect to be living directly in SF, but we'd like to be close.

jking47

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#4  Edited By jking47

I live in San Jose, about 45 minutes from San Francisco, for a 1 bedroom apartment that is not a complete dump it is usually at least $1,100 per month, so its not super cheap. I don't know if you guys have good jobs lined up here or something, but living on entry level wages is very difficult, though having roommates should help. Yeah there are gonna be some places you don't really want to live, but it will be pretty obvious usually. I like San Jose myself, but I hate San Francisco which it sounds like you enjoy. Those fucking one way roads are the most stressful thing in the world. Since you have family out here you should take a trip and look online for places up for rent and drive to the neighborhood and see what is around, I don't really know what you are looking for specifically. Let me know if you need any other info, I have lived in the Bay Area for a while.

SathingtonWaltz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By SathingtonWaltz