Need to vent

MightyDuck

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: -2

#1  Edited By MightyDuck

Hey Giant Bomb...is it okay to vent? If not feel free to delete.

I'm a teacher who is required to be in my building but students are at home. Fine, it works, already have had multiple covid scares just with staff, but whatever.

My wife and I have been going through IVF for the last 6 years. Multiple miscarriages and the death of our daughter has made it super tough.

Parents want kids back, school board agreed. They told our union today that we can either take a leave of absence without pay or work in school with the kids. I've sent in multiple doctors notes requesting remote teaching and they've been denied. If I or my wife get covid it will delay the next round of the IVF process a ton. It already takes forever. Usually one transfer a year.

I'm literally stunned. I don't know what to do.

I cant afford to quit, but literally don't feel safe at my job. I've been a teaching for 11 years and I've never felt more disrespected at my job.

petesix0

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I've rewritten several times over now, how to start this with me describing in my own words how this makes me feel. And every draft I've deleted was deleted because I don't feel like it's helpful for me to say those words because you're probably already there. I'm not saying people shouldn't, just that I wanted to say that I've not been in most of the situations you describe, but my heart goes out to you both.

I didn't want this to stay as the only comment in the thread for long. Not sure if you're crowdsourcing for suggestions or empathy or I've butted in on a screed(And will delete this if I have butted in), but here for it.

ZombiePie

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 19

I'm a teacher, and I hear you.