Smoke-proofing my apartment?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

MikeHawk

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

Hey guys, it's been a couple years since I've actually posted on the forums, but I thought someone might be able to give me some advice. I graduated college 6 months ago and took a job 5 hours away from my hometown. I didn't have much time to scope out apartments before I took the job, so I had to decide based on online pictures and chatting with the landlord. The apartment is not bad for my first apartment and the rent isn't outrageous.

The only problem is that everyone in the other 5 apartments in my building smokes. Some of them weren't living here when I moved in, so it wasn't very noticeable at the beginning. Specifically, my next-door neighbor (whom I share a ventilation shaft with) is the heaviest smoker of them all. It leaks through that shared ventilation shaft, as well as one of my power outlets and the door to my apartment. Although I found out that it is technically illegal in Indiana to smoke in the shared building area, the neighbors still spend enough time in the hallway that I can tell when one of my neighbors has recently walked by my door purely by smell.

I have tried nearly everything I can think of to solve the problem, but I'm running out of ideas and need help. I have placed carbon filters in the vent and have sprayed foam sealant in the vent and the power outlet. I have added additional weather stripping to my door. I have air fresheners in most of my rooms. I complained to the landlord last week and she talked to my neighbor, who apparently agreed to not smoke in her bathroom anymore. Whether or not she is still smoking in the bathroom, I smelled it coming through that vent when I went to the bathroom this morning.