Tips/Advice for getting into QA/Game Testing?

joshth

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey Duders,

So I'm a recent College Graduate and have made the decision that I really want to work in the game industry. I was looking at QA jobs to be my entry level position that would be my foot in the door, so I could start making connections, etc. It seems like so many of these jobs want people with at least one year of testing experience, and the ones that don't seem like there's a lot of competition.

So I was wondering if there was anyone here at GB who has experience in this field and could maybe give some tips on what I can do to make myself a more appealing candidate? I feel silly asking, but it's been very frustrating sending lots of applications and getting basically nothing in return, for jobs that are low on pay and benefits for a college graduate.

Any and all help would be appreciated!

killacam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#3  Edited By killacam

What exactly do you want to ultimately be doing in the industry? Do you have any skills that are relevant to games? I'm sure companies see tons of applicants with "playing games is my life!" on their resumes and not much else.... Show them you're passionate and have room to grow. If you learn a bit of programming/art/music-making and start hitting up game jams in your city it will make your resume look 1000 times better. A skill like this is pretty important because nobody wants an "ideas guy". Don't worry if you're not that great at any of these things. Just go, have fun, meet people, and learn!

Also, aim for the smaller companies. As a QA person, the larger ones will chew you up and spit you out. In smaller companies there's a lot more collaboration happening and opportunity to show them you can be more than just some dude looking for bugs.

rynox45

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers