What computer setup would be best for me to go to college with?

MikeHawk

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By MikeHawk

I know this is more of a question for Tested, but on the last This Is Only A Test, Will and Norm answered a similar question. So I thought I would get a different point of view. Anywho, I'm going to college next fall and I'm trying to plan out what technology to bring with me. My major is graphic design/communication with a concentration in film studies. Obviously I'm going to need a computer that can handle heavy video editing (and of course gaming), but I'm not sure specifically what I should get. My dad is willing to spend about $2,000 for one to be custom built, and I will also have a summer job. Should I get a very high end desktop PC for the video editing and a dual core netbook for portability and note taking? Or would I be better off just pumping it all into a beefy laptop or mobile workstation? Also, can I get away with dual-booting windows 7 and Snow Leopard?

artofwar420

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 7

#2  Edited By artofwar420

Dual boot? Isn't that easier if you get a Mac lappie? Because I haven't heard of any simple solution to dual boot Leopard with a Windows system. That right there narrows down your options. Someone correct me.

TheHBK

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 6

#3  Edited By TheHBK

Windows 7 works awesome on the Mac.