• 51 results
JasonR86

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 17

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By JasonR86

There are a lot of assumptions about different jobs out there. Some might be true but just as many assumptions are wrong. One assumption that I have heard a lot about the types of jobs I have held is that they are easy in one way or another. I used to work in retail part-time as I was getting my BA. You can't imagine how many people thought that that job was easy (they conveniently forgot what retail customers are like apparently). But, no matter the job, there are bound to be easy and hard parts. What I'm interested in are the hard parts. What are the parts of your job that are really demanding of you for one reason or another?

I am working as a mental health therapist. I'm pretty new at this job so I'm still learning about all of the peaks and valleys of this work. But one of the hardest things that I've come across is trying to help people that I don't like. My job demands that I do all that I can to help my clients reach their goals. This means that I need to try to treat them with respect, honor their world-view, and work from their perspective. This is easy when the person you are working with is someone you get along with. Someone that you either want to see get better (like the victim of a trauma) or someone you could have seen yourself being friends with prior to being their therapist. It's a lot harder to work with people you don't like. Perpetrators of violence (physical and sexual), angry clients who dislike people who don't think as they do, aggressive clients who wish others, including the therapist, harm. These are the people that I find it difficult to work with. They have been the hardest part of my job so far.

Avatar image for video_game_king
Video_Game_King

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 54

User Lists: 14

#2  Edited By Video_Game_King