Building a better battlestation

BeasMeeply

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hello dudes! I guess first, I’m not actually a “battlestation” person, but this is a better title than “building a better desk”.

In addition to games, I am also a hobbyist woodworker. I recently built a new desk for my wife, and was rewarded with permission to build a new PC. I don't keep up with hardware too much, so I just used PCPartPicker to get "a good one" for each of the components. For the case, I opted for "the big one". I put it all together and after the usual round of nearly catastrophic boot troubleshooting, everything's great! Except the case was two inches too tall to fit under my desk where I want it to be.

I had some nice ash boards on hand that I had intended to use for a wall cabinet, but figured they'd work for a desk just as well. Here's the before and after:

No Caption Provided
No Caption Provided

Just wanted to share!

mellotronrules

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

very nice! i'm jelly of your carpentry skills. is woodworking in your family, or is it something you've taken on yourself? (i might be toying with the idea of having a new hobby, and i can't imagine something more satisfying than designing and building your own furniture).

Avatar image for ralphmoustaccio
RalphMoustaccio

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Excellent, duder! How do you open the drawers? Are they on a push-spring mechanism?

BeasMeeply

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By BeasMeeply

I actually got into woodworking as a side effect of amateur astronomy! Buying a large telescope that works properly is super expensive, so I tried making my own and enjoyed it.