#1 Posted by soulfulsoul (186 posts) -

I'd like to get a reasonably powerful desktop PC which I would mostly be running CAD and Autodesk 3ds Max / other rendering programs on. Is a gaming PC reasonable, or does it make sense to get a workstation? I have read that for the most part workstations are not really necessary for home use, though they are specifically designed for CAD and rendering? Would it make any sense to build my own PC when I have no experience with it? It seems like it would be fun, but I'm not sure I really have the time to put into it.

Thanks, any thoughts would be appreciated!

#2 Posted by Asurastrike (2306 posts) -

I'd like to get a reasonably powerful desktop PC which I would mostly be running CAD and Autodesk 3ds Max / other rendering programs on. Is a gaming PC reasonable, or does it make sense to get a workstation? I have read that for the most part workstations are not really necessary for home use, though they are specifically designed for CAD and rendering? Would it make any sense to build my own PC when I have no experience with it? It seems like it would be fun, but I'm not sure I really have the time to put into it.

Thanks, any thoughts would be appreciated!

Gaming PCs don't rely too heavily on CPUs (most games still run fine on the 5 year old i5 2500k) or RAM (for most games 8GB is more than enough) and instead focus on a monster GPU.

Building a PC can take as little as 45 minutes to an hour if you know what your doing, or 2 to 3 hours if you are completely brand new. Pcgamer.com has a number of recommended builds that are based on price that you might want to take a look at.

http://www.pcgamer.com/pc-build-guide-high-end-gaming-pc/

http://www.pcgamer.com/pc-build-guide-high-end-gaming-pc/

Sorry if this isn't particularly helpful. I have build Gaming PCs in the past, but CAD and Autodesk have never been something I took into consideration.

#3 Posted by korwin (3918 posts) -