Is Persona 5 worth buying for a brand-new-to-the-series-player?

Malawi1321

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hi all,

Would love some group think opinions. I'm thinking of purchasing Persona 5 but I'm on the fence since I've heard waffling opinions on the bombcast. I've watched the persona 4 endurance run many times but never played that game myself. Other than that, I've no experience with the series.

Now that we're a few months separated from its release, do you think it's worth a try?

Thanks duders!

Milijango

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By Milijango

Probably the most important thing to know going in is that Persona 5 is long. Maybe 20% longer than Persona 4, to the point where I’d characterise a 90-hour playthrough as brisk, with 100-120 being a rough average.

As for the quality of the game, well, you’ll hear a range of opinions though it does seem that the Giant Bomb community prefers Persona 4 overall. I guess that puts me in the dissenting minority - I think that 5 is a significant improvement in all respects other than localisation quality. Faster gameplay, non-randomised dungeons and stronger social links with more tangible rewards did a lot for me, and I think the cast works better overall.

Try to get a feel for the style of the game. Not just the music and the menus, but maybe watch a bit from the game’s opening. The combat, the structure, the writing - do you see yourself enjoying that? The fact that you’ve watched the endurance run more than once makes me think there’s a good chance you will.

FlarePhoenix

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By FlarePhoenix