A Game I Don't Recommend: Resident Evil 6

BlackRedGaming

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 33

User Lists: 7

Edited By BlackRedGaming

Note: This will contains slight spoilers. (Do I even need to put this in? Is this story even worth a spoiler warning?)

No Caption Provided

Lately, I have been on a quest to play every mainline Resident Evil game from 4 to 7, including the two Revelations games. So far, my experience with the games have been from meh to pretty great, with one exception. I knew going in that Resident Evil 6 was a disliked game, but I wasn't prepared for how bad the game was really going to be.

I went into the game knowing it was bad, but I didn't know why. When I started playing the game, I thought this would be another game I played that people disliked but I liked a little. The very beginning of the game started out relatively strong for me. The shooting felt good, the graphics were pretty, the controls felt fully modernized instead of the half-steps Resident Evil Revelations had, and the zombies were normal zombies. But even in the beginning, bad elements of the game started to emerge. Button prompts, quick time events, and button mashing were apparent, the voice acting was terrible, too many cutscenes were chopping up the gameplay into little bits, and movement with the camera locked was really bad. All of this was just the prelude. What is to come is twenty hours worth of gameplay, four separate campaigns, and all of the good elements I talked about stripped with new bad elements to take its place.