Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 4

Edited By Darth_Navster
All aboard to country living!
All aboard to country living!

As we slowly move into an era where so-called “indie games” become increasingly indistinguishable from mainstream gaming, it’s almost inevitable to see a backlash against the multitude of games being released each day. In particular, most of the vitriol is directed at the unending stream of pixelated games that lean heavily on nostalgia for their appeal and offer little else. Even I have reached a point of burnout with retro-themed platformers which all blur together in a haze of uninspired, repetitive design. But we as consumers often forget about the gems in the indie rough, games like Rogue Legacy or Undertale which use the retro blueprint as a springboard to novel experiences. It is with that in mind that I recently started playing Stardew Valley, and I was pleasantly surprised at how well it uses nostalgia to come up with a compelling new experience.