The "Meet Your Match" update: One big step for competitve MM, one gigantic leap backwards for pubs

Avatar image for adequatelyprepared
AdequatelyPrepared

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey all, chances are that over the next few days you are going to hear about a lot of shit being thrown Valve's way for the most recent TF2 update. As someone with lots of TF2 experience (about 400 hours, which I know is peanuts to some other users), I figured I'd try to give everyone a bit of context on what the hell is going on, and I'm going to do it bit by bit because I'm a bad writer.

First, the update itself if you want to read. Note the "Day 2" at the top, that takes you to a second page.
http://www.teamfortress.com/meetyourmatch/

Competitive

Fantastic that Valve has finally done this. It's been needed in the game for an incredibly long time. Unless something crops up in the next few days, this is pretty alright. I have not been able to try it myself yet, due to the servers being hammered and/or mm just being buggy. For those used to playing 12v12, Competitive Matchmaking is 6v6, so bear that in mind.

Balance

Some interesting decisions have been made here to say the least. Not going to go through everything, but changes to the Medic make one of his Mediguns lose one of its major advantages, and the Spy movement speed increase, despite just being 20 units from 300, is huge. Makes him faster than Pyro, the natural enemy of the Spy. I'm also 90% certain that the Righteous Bison hitting a target multiple times was an intended design choice, so no idea what's going on there.