2007's The Darkness is showing its age and isn't that fun to play anymore.

bigsocrates

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By bigsocrates

I’ve been playing video games for a long time and I’m pretty comfortable playing games from almost any era. While modern games tend to be my favorites (I think Breath of the Wild and God of War 2018 are my two favorite games of all time, in that order) I have no problem going back to older stuff. In the last couple years I’ve played through the entire God of War series, took a detour to play through Dante’s Inferno on the PS3, have played a number of remasters including Katamari Damacy, and have had fun with all of the above. Older graphics don’t tend to bother me, and I can adjust to older mechanics and controls once I start playing. I like revisiting prior eras of gaming, and especially filling in gaps of my gaming knowledge.

I started playing through The Darkness on Xbox 360 in 2015 when it was already 8 years old and the Xbox One and PS4 had been out for a couple years. It was a game I had always been intrigued by and while I don’t remember what specifically caused me to boot it up on my 360, I remember mostly liking it despite the quirks of its age. Then I got busy and the game fell by the wayside, but I always meant to get back to it someday. That intent was amplified when the game came to Xbox backwards compatibility, because it meant that jumping back in would be easy and convenient (I still have my 360 but it’s not hooked up) and I just generally enjoy playing things on backwards compatibility. It’s neat, and I prefer the XBONE controller to the 360 pad.