PSA - Wii Shop will close January 30th, 2019

liquiddragon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 19

#1  Edited By liquiddragon

Hey, this was announced awhile ago but that day is fast approaching.

If you need to spend your Wii Points, redownload content, or transfer content from Wii to Wii U, you must do it in the next 10 days.

Here is the link to Nintendo for official info.

On a side note, I started playing Silent Hill Shattered Memories on the Wii and holy shit, masterpiece?

Edit: It's worth mentioning, if anybody wants to play Skyward Sword at some point in the future, there is a patch for a save glitch in the form of a channel that's available in the Wii Shop. It's probably worth it to at least download that.

alistercat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 27

Damn. I kinda wanted the Wii version of the Phoenix Wright games. I can't see myself doing that in the next 10 days.

BisonHero

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

I know console-specific online services can't last forever, but the Wii Shop Channel closing is sad. As much as the Wii's retail software was aimed at a very wide audience, the Wii Shop (by which I mean the Virtual Console) was aimed pretty squarely at those with an appreciation for the history of video games (or if Nintendo actually thought the general public might buy NES or Master System in 2006-2012 then they were absolutely delusional). Sure, WiiWare existed, and Konami put out some surprisingly decent Castlevania and Contra remakes/reimaginings, Capcom ported the first 3 Ace Attorney games there back when they hadn't been rereleased anywhere in English other than the DS, and it has a pretty good version of World of Goo. But when I think of the Wii Shop, I think of the Virtual Console.