Something went wrong. Try again later

    Fractured Soul

    Game » consists of 3 releases. Released Sep 13, 2012

    A platformer / space shooter for 3DS and PC in which the player must control the hero, Jake Desaul, on both screens at once, in slightly different versions of the same level.

    Short summary describing this game.

    Fractured Soul last edited by frobie on 01/26/20 10:44PM View full history


    No Caption Provided

    Endgame's Fractured Soul started its life as a Nintendo DS retail title. The game is a platformer/shooter that is designed around dual screen gameplay similar to Chronos Twin where you control the same character on both screens at the same time and have to switch control according to the requirements of the level design.

    After a long development time of more than two years, Fractured Soul was released exclusively via the Nintendo 3DS eShop on September 13, 2012. The game was approved by Nintendo of America on August 21st, 2012.

    In 2014, the game was released for PC via and Desura. On June 11, 2014 the game was greenlit for distribution via Steam.


    The game takes place in the deep and cold parts of outer space. The main character Jake Desaul, a rogue who travels between planets, finds himself stuck in this hellish part of space. In order to escape the space station he must confront his inner demons from his past. Not much is known about Desaul as a character, rather he is a man with a very mysterious past. While in the space station, Jake must use his curiously handy ability to split into two physical bodies in order to solve the various puzzles that are in store for him.


    Fractured Soul is mainly focused around shooting, platforming, and puzzle gameplay. The game has jumping and timed bases mechanics like every other platformer. However in the game Desaul also has a blaster to kill his foes, and he also has a jet-pack used for various height and puzzle purposes in the game. One thing that separates Fractured Soul from most 3DS games is it's use of bottom screen for gameplay, instead of just putting a map there. On both the bottom part and the top part of the screen the player must control Desaul in as he progresses through the space station. The game, however, limits the enemies to one screen per a time. Fractured Soul features 20 levels, with 5 different environments: inverted gravity, water, wind, ice, and damage.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.