Something went wrong. Try again later

    Gargoyle's Quest II: The Demon Darkness

    Game » consists of 12 releases. Released Jul 12, 1992

    The Ghoul realm is under attack and the warrior Firebrand sets out to save it.

    Short summary describing this game.

    Gargoyle's Quest II: The Demon Darkness last edited by AlexB4tman on 05/11/22 05:25AM View full history


    Gargoyle's Quest II: The Demon Darkness is the second Gargoyle's Quest game, a spin-off series from Ghosts 'N Goblins (a.k.a. Makai-Mura). The player once again takes the role of Firebrand, or Red Arremer, as he first attempts to prove his worth by defeating his kingdom's training region before he is sent to investigate a larger menace that threatens the whole Ghoul realm. The game is a prequel, taking place long before both the original Gargoyle's Quest and the Ghosts 'N Goblins games (it pre-dates human civilization, in fact).

    The game is mechanically similar to its predecessor: the game splits its game time between a top-down view that is reminiscent of RPGs like Dragon Quest, and side-scrolling action stages. In these action stages, Firebrand can grow more powerful by acquiring new weapons and upgrades, and can use his limited flight capacity to evade traps and reach new areas, and is another power that can be upgraded. The game uses a password system to save progress, despite being a 1992 release and thus late into the NES's lifespan.

    Gargoyle's Quest II was followed by one more sequel: Demon's Crest for the SNES.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.