Hero Quest last edited by fiye on 08/08/21 06:54AM View full history


The game features a mouse-driven isometric interface reminiscent of the game Populous.
The game features a mouse-driven isometric interface reminiscent of the game Populous.

HeroQuest (also known as Hero Quest, not to be confused with Hero Quest: So You Want to Be a Hero) is a high-fantasy isometric turn-based strategy-RPG developed and published by Gremlin for the MS-DOS PC, Amiga, Atari ST, Acorn Archimedes, Amstrad CPC, Commodore 64, and ZX Spectrum, all exclusively in Europe in 1991.

Based on the 1989 Milton Bradley and Games Workshop board game of the same name, HeroQuest has players engaging in scenarios with up to four nameable heroes (a barbarian, a dwarf, an elf, and a wizard), each with their own strengths and weaknesses, against a variety of chaotic beings (such as orcs, goblins, undead skeletons, and gargoyles). Similar to the base game, the lore follows a group of adventurers trained by the Mentor as they face off against the chaotic forces of the wizard Morcar.

Much of the gameplay is faithful to the original board game, although some parts are simplified (such as a computerized "gamemaster"). The game includes 14 scenarios of varying difficulty, and players can play these in any order with a persistent set of heroes (who can use the Gold they earned to purchase equipment for later scenarios).

The game later received an expansion pack, known as HeroQuest: Return of the Witch Lord. Based on the board game's expansion, it adds 10 additional scenarios. The game later received a full-fledged sequel, titled HeroQuest II: Legacy of Sorasil. A similar game adaptation was made for this game's "sister game" Space Crusade.


There are fourteen levels, or "missions", and every character rolls to establish move order. Every round the player will have a dice roll which will decide how many move/action points they will get. These points are spent to move, fight monsters, and cast spells.

The player characters can also find potions and treasures around the map which can be traded at the shop after each level. To do this they must "search" the current room at either the start or the end of their turn, and this has an equal chance of spawning enemies and traps as well as producing treasure. Searching for secret doors instead will reveal hidden exits as well as traps.

Combat uses a rudimentary dice system in which both combatants roll special dice to attack and defend, depending on who initiated the encounter. Each skull the attacker rolls is nullified by each shield the defender rolls. If there's more skulls than shields, the defender takes that many body points: most creatures in the game have only one. If there's a greater or equal number of shields, or the attacker fails to roll a single skull, then combat concludes with both participants unharmed. On the next action turn, the other participant can then initiate combat and switch roles.

To beat a scenario, the player must locate the exit and leave. They ideally will have completed the objective posited by the mission overview, which can involve assassinating a specific monster, rescuing an NPC or collecting a certain item. By reaching the exit with the main mission completed, they earn a cash reward and the mission is listed as completed on their record. If they survived, the same character can then be used again for subsequent missions. The missions do not have to be completed in a specific order: rather, they're listed in a loose order based on difficulty.


  • Staff (100 gold)
  • Short Sword (150 gold)
  • Broad Sword (250 gold)
  • Battle Axe (400 gold)
  • Crossbow (350 gold)
  • Hand Axe (150 gold)
  • Spear (150 gold)
  • The Shield (100 gold)
  • The Helmet (120 gold)
  • Chain Mail (450 gold)
  • Plate Armour (850 gold)
  • Tool Kit (250 gold)


  1. The Maze
  2. The Rescue of Sir Ragnar
  3. Lair of the Orc Warlord
  4. Prince Magnus' Gold
  5. Melar's Maze
  6. Legacy of the Orc Warlord
  7. The Stone Hunter
  8. The Fire Mage
  9. Race Against Time
  10. Castle of Mystery
  11. Bastion of Chaos
  12. Barrow of the Witch Lord
  13. Quest for the Spirit Blade
  14. Return to Barak Tor

Added in the Return of the Witch Lord expansion:

  1. The Gate of Doom
  2. The Cold Halls
  3. The Silent Passages
  4. Halls of Vision
  5. The Gate of Bellthor
  6. Halls of the Dead
  7. The Forgotten Legion
  8. The Forbidden City
  9. The Last Gate
  10. Court of the Witch Lord

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.