Something went wrong. Try again later


    Location » linked to 43 games

    Indiana is the 19th state admitted into US Statehood on December 13, 1816. It is home to 6.4 million residents making it the 15th biggest state in regards to population. It's the 18th most densely populated state.

    Short summary describing this location.

    Indiana last edited by fiye on 08/22/22 11:02AM View full history

    Indiana Trivia

    • Wabash, IN was the first electrically lighted city in the world on March 31st, 1880.
    • The Indianapolis 500 and Brickyard 400 races take place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
    • Notable Hoosiers: David Letterman, Kurt Vonnegut, The Jacksons (Michael, Janet, etc.), Dan Quayle, Larry Bird, Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, Jim Davis, James Dean.
    • Corydon, IN was the capitol of Indiana before it became a state in December of 1816. The state capitol was moved to a more centralized location, Indianapolis.
    • The term "Hoosier", though still widely disputed (trust me), is generally thought to have come from a colloquial frontier greeting of "Who's here?"
    • Indiana is home to many great educational institutions: Indiana University (Bloomington), Purdue (Lafayette), Notre Dame (South Bend), and Indiana State University (Terre Haute).
    • Indiana's state bird is the cardinal. Its state flower is the peony.
    • Indiana's state motto is "The Crossroads of America", referring to the multitudes of major US highways connecting Indianapolis with the rest of the US and Indiana's historical status as a major US railroad hub.
    • Elkhart County has Indiana's biggest county fair, the Elkhart County 4-H Fair.
    • The term "Hoosier hysteria" refers to the excitement that Hoosiers experience around basketball season. Any of them. Excitement levels may vary, check your local hoosier for details.
    • Wabash College, located in Crawfordsville, IN, is one of three remaining all-male liberal college institutions in the US.
    • The Old Oaken Bucket, is a hotly contested college football trophy among arch-rivals the Indiana Hoosiers of Bloomington, and the Purdue Boilermakers of Lafayette. Purdue leads in terms of trophy possession, 70 to 37, with 6 ties against the Hoosiers. The Hoosiers won the trophy back in 2010 during a 34-31 overtime against Purdue. Purdue had kept the trophy since winning it back in 1996.

    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.