Something went wrong. Try again later

    Indianapolis Motor Speedway

    Location » linked to 35 games

    The main portion of the speedway is a 2.5 mile oval legendary for hosting the Indianapolis 500 race, as well as NASCAR's Brickyard 400. The road course layout held eight Grand Prix from 2000 to 2007 and appears in many Formula 1 games.

    Short summary describing this location.

    Indianapolis Motor Speedway last edited by xk1x on 08/16/22 07:30PM View full history

    By the Numbers

    Indy 500

    • Most Pole Positions: Rick Mears (6)
    • Most Wins: Aj Foyt, Al Unser, Rick Mears, Hélio Castroneves (4)

    Brickyard 400

    • Most Pole Positions: Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick (3)
    • Most Wins: Jeff Gordon (5)

    The Milk and the Kiss

    Jeff Gordon and owner Rick Hendrick pucker up
    Jeff Gordon and owner Rick Hendrick pucker up

    With few exceptions winners of the Indy 500 are given a bottle of milk to drink in victory lane, a tradition dating back to 1936 when Louis Meyer first did it.

    In 1996 when Dale Jarrett won the Brickyard 400 he and his team began the tradition of kissing the yard of bricks at the start/finish line. The practice has since been adopted by Indy 500 winners as well.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.