Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Kinect Support

Concept »

Kinect is a camera and depth sensor-based peripheral for the Xbox 360 that allows users to interact with and play games using their whole bodies, rather than using a standard controller.

I've Been Playing Kinect for Two Months: Don't Ask Me Anything!

Marino

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 92

User Lists: 102

Edited By Marino  Staff  Online

So I was in the Kinect Beta.  Due to the NDA, we're not allowed to talk specifically about what we were able to play and test, but after two months of secretly playing this... thing in my apartment, I just had to say at least something now that Kinect is officially out in the wild.  The info below (minus the part about the sensor arriving) is stuff that anyone can know and find out today if they buy a Kinect. 

OMG WHAT IS THAT MIDDLE ICON?!
       OMG WHAT IS THAT MIDDLE ICON?!
    One day at the end of August, right before PAX 2010, I was prompted to download a dashboard update.  That turned out to be the NEW New Xbox Experience that everyone now has.  A few days later, I got a package from Microsoft containing a shiny, new Kinect sensor.  The set up was easy on the slim Xbox 360 and after a couple hours downloading all the content for it, I was ready to try this thing out.  For the first couple weeks that I had it, I played it for at least an hour every day.  But, as time went on, I generally lost interest much in the same way I did with the Wii four years ago.  I can't say I didn't have fun though, because I certainly did.  The technology is pretty amazing and will likely surprise people the first time they use it.  

Yes, you will look like an idiot playing this.
     Yes, you will look like an idiot playing this.