Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

L.A. Noire

Game » consists of 17 releases. Released May 17, 2011

L.A. Noire is a detective thriller developed by Team Bondi in Australia and published by Rockstar Games.

I just beat L.A. Noire

fishinwithguns

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By fishinwithguns

I think there is a problem with Rockstar games or maybe just any story-driven game.  They're supposed to have a cinematic feel and have strong narratives like a movie, and in many cases it's successful.  However, I don't know about any of you, but I finish all movies in a single sitting but never any games.  I'm actually surprised I beat this game so quickly (and kinda disappointed honestly).  This game was very engaging.  It seems like I play most games in 30-60 minute increments, but I lost track of time the night I started playing this game and estimate almost three hours of play time with no interruptions.  The next few days I played it in shorter bursts.  Today I got far enough along in the story where I thought "I could be really close to the end" but usually when I start thinking that in games I'm further from the end then I realize, and that the game isn't ending but rather moving on to its final act.  Movies have a simple structure, and it's easy to know what the climactic scene is, even if it's anti-climactic.  Game narratives are sometimes more disorienting, I played L.A. Noire more today than the last few days because I became really engrossed in the story, but I had no idea that what I was playing through was the final "scene" so to speak.  I think it was a fitting end, I just wasn't expecting it to be the very end.  So that's my big complaint, that it ended too quickly, OR I just wasn't paying attention enough to know where I was exactly in the story.  And if this game has several different outcomes, mine certainly wasn't ideal.