Something went wrong. Try again later

    The Lord of the Rings Online

    Franchise »

    A MMORPG set in Tolkien's Middle-Earth. The Lord of the Rings Online became free to play starting September 10th, 2010 and later that year in Europe.

    Short summary describing this franchise.

    The Lord of the Rings Online last edited by Marino on 09/12/22 12:48PM View full history

    The Lord of the Rings Online (commonly abbreviated as "LOTRO") was originally released on April 24th, 2007 as The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar. It is a massively multi-player role-playing game (MMORPG) set in the fictional universe of J. R. R. Tolkein's Middle Earth, primarily following the story line of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The Lord of the Rings Online was developed and maintained by Turbine, Inc., a subsidiary of Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment as of April 20th, 2010.

    Originally a subscription based game, it is now free to play, featuring an in-game store and the ability to earn the store currency (Turbine Points aka TP) in game. Additionally, players choosing to pay a monthly subscription fee are given additional perks such as a monthly stipend of 500 Turbine Points and full access to all base game content without requiring the purchase of Quest Packs from the in-game store. Certain areas released as part of expansion packs will not offer quests without the purchase of the respective expansion pack, either from a retail establishment or from the in-game store.

    To date, there have been five expansions released, they are as follows:

    Mines of Moria, released November 2008. Raised the level cap to 60 from 50 in the base game and added Legendary Weapons and the entire Mines of Moria region.

    Siege of Mirkwood, released December 2009. Raised the level cap to 65 and introduced the Skirmish system and the Mirkwood region.

    Rise of Isengard, released September 2011. Raised the level cap by 10 more levels to 75 and introduced the Dunland, The Gap of Rohan and Isengard.

    Riders of Rohan, released September 2012. Raised the level cap by yet another 10 levels and added East Rohan, Amon Hen and the Eaves of Fangorn Forest. Also introduced was Mounted Combat, a long-awaited feature.

    Helm's Deep, released November 20, 2013. Raised the level cap to 95 and added the regions ofWest Rohan, including Edoras, Dunharrow and the fortress of Hornburg. Significant class changes were made in this expansion.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.