Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Mac

Platform »

The Macintosh (Mac) line of personal computers is designed and developed by Apple, Inc. - formerly Apple Computer, Inc. It runs macOS, a Unix operating system. Its current version, macOS 13.4 "Ventura" was released on May 18, 2023.

Quick response from a Macbook user needed

Lashe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By Lashe

Hey guys,  

I just saw an Early 2009 Macbook Unibody (120gb/2gb ram - 4gb 1066mhz limit) going for about half price -- is this worth the investment? I am a Music student at uni and have not had much in the way of experience with the Macbooks themselves, however I am familiar with the the AIO Macs -- are the macbooks competent enough for audio recording/mixing/editing etc on their own? 

Obviously I would up the RAM/HDD speed, just need to know if this would be a worthwhile investment!

PerryVandell

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 8

#2  Edited By PerryVandell

Ram is only really important if you play games. I guess if you play lots of Call of Duty you could...

sup909

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 57

User Lists: 5

#3  Edited By sup909

Absolutely. Half the price meaning it is around $600? If it is early 2009 it probably has a Core 2 Duo in it. That is plenty capable for audio recording. I use a 1st generation Macbook still for my audio recording.  Personally I don't even think you need to worry about upping the HDD to a 7200 rpm one, but more Ram never hurts. 

What specific audio applications do you intend to do with it? Are you going to be multi-track recording or more something along the lines of software composition?  

Lashe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#4  Edited By Lashe

It's both, I'm a composer so I need at least some Sibelius or Finale with some good instrument banks and midi support.