Something went wrong. Try again later

    Madden NFL

    Franchise »

    The best selling NFL-based franchise.

    Short summary describing this franchise.

    Madden NFL last edited by reverendhunt on 06/07/23 09:09AM View full history


    First published in 1988, the Madden franchise gradually became the top selling and highest rated football-based videogame available.


    On December 13th, 2004, EA Sports announced that they had secured the exclusive rights to the NFL and its players' union until 2009 (and then later extended it to 2012). This prevented any other publishers (notably 2K Sports) from releasing a game that included NFL players, teams, or stadiums until the license has expired.

    Madden Challenge

    The EA Sports Madden Challenge is one of the most popular video game tournaments in the world, attracting thousands of spectators and players every year. "The Challenge" visits a variety of major cities, each with a 256-player tournament. The winners of each major city then compete for a $50,000 Best Buy gift card and $10,000 in cash.

    Madden Cover Athletes


    Tom Brady (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)/Patrick Mahomes II (Kansas City Chiefs)


    Lamar Jackson (Baltimore Ravens)


    Patrick Mahomes II (Kansas City Chiefs)


    Antonio Brown (Pittsburgh Steelers)


    Tom Brady (New England Patriots)/Terrell Owens (Dallas Cowboys) (Hall of Fame Edition)

    2017Rob Gronkowski (New England Patriots)
    2016Odell Beckham Jr. (New York Giants)
    2015Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks)
    2014Barry Sanders (Detroit Lions)/Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings)
    2013Calvin Johnson (Detroit Lions)
    2012Peyton Hillis (Cleveland Browns)
    2011Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints)
    2010Troy Polamalu and Larry Fitzgerald (Pittsburgh Steelers and Arizona Cardinals)
    2009Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers/New York Jets)/Roberto Garza (Chicago Bears) (Spanish Version)
    2008Vince Young (Tennessee Titans)/Luis Castillo (San Diego Chargers) (Spanish Version)
    2007Shaun Alexander (Seattle Seahawks)/John Madden (Hall of Fame Edition)
    2006Donovan McNabb (Philadelphia Eagles)
    2005Ray Lewis (Baltimore Ravens)
    2004Michael Vick (Atlanta Falcons)
    2003Marshall Faulk (St. Louis Rams)
    2002Daunte Culpepper (Minnesota Vikings)
    2001Eddie George (Tennessee Titans)
    2000Barry Sanders (Detroit Lions)/Dorsey Levens (Green Bay Packers)(PAL Version)
    1988-2000John Madden

    For the cover of Madden 2009, EA chose the retiring Brett Favre for the cover. However, after the game shipped with him in his Green Bay Packers uniform, Favre changed his mind and signed with the New York Jets. In response, EA provided an alternate cover, with Favre in a Jets uniform, that fans could download and print out to replace the Packers version. They also provided a game update that added Favre to the Jets lineup.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.