An overview of Marvel Heroes' "Biggest Update Ever"

#1 Edited by Wemibelle (2391 posts) -

On January 19th, the biggest ever update to Marvel Heroes was pushed live. There were countless changes made to the game, with pages and pages of patch notes to skim through for those wanting every detail. As someone who is familiar with the game, I was able to parse them easily. However, I figured that many people who had never tried the game or those who had fallen off in the past might be curious about the update but be unable to understand the details. As such, I thought I’d take a crack at highlighting the biggest changes made to the game, using simple language and explaining what they are and why they matter. I’m far from an expert at Marvel Heroes, but I think I managed to distill the most important points of this update into a more manageable form.

Hopefully it helps some of you better understand the update and gives you enough information to decide whether or not to give it a(nother) shot!

Movement Power Change

Here you can see the new cast bar for travel powers and the charges on the movement powers (the little 3 next to the second ability on the hotbar).
Here you can see the new cast bar for travel powers and the charges on the movement powers (the little 3 next to the second ability on the hotbar).

What Changed?

Movement powers (short moves like dashes, teleports, etc.) now have charges instead of consuming the hero’s primary resource. Most heroes get 3 charges and a recovery cooldown of 4 seconds per charge, but some heroes, especially those focused on movement like Nightcrawler, have lower restrictions or can even lower them further. Travel powers (long moves like sprints, flight, etc.) now have a windup time of about 1 second before usage, and their speed has been lowered by a considerable amount.

What Does This Mean?