Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Obduction

Game » consists of 3 releases. Released Aug 24, 2016

A first-person adventure game by Cyan Worlds, in the vein of Myst.

The brilliant Russian box puzzle! (Spoiler)

Aethelred

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

The puzzles in this game weren't too hard until I came to the Russian box puzzle. (Players who have reached it know what I am talking about.) It is connected to a mechanical stairway, so it is obviously important. I pushed all the switches, turned all the knobs, carefully watching the patterns, and typed numbers into the keypad to watch what happens. I studied the Russian writing, looking for clues.

I finally found the solution, and it is genius: There is no puzzle. The box is just a counterweight to the stairway! I burst out laughing at how clever it is.

cloudymusic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

I put the Russian writing into Google Translate using my phone and got back "boondoggle" which, combined with the fact that there are just so many buttons and switches on the thing, tipped me off that it was a red herring. It definitely got a smile out of me, too. There is an achievement in the game related to the box, so it's not technically completely useless, at least.

ajamafalous

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 9

#3  Edited By ajamafalous

I put the Russian writing into Google Translate using my phone and got back "boondoggle" which, combined with the fact that there are just so many buttons and switches on the thing, tipped me off that it was a red herring. It definitely got a smile out of me, too. There is an achievement in the game related to the box, so it's not technically completely useless, at least.

There are actually two achievements! Also, after reading the subreddit post-completion, somebody else had translated the text as something like 'senseless endeavor,' which is equally hilarious.