A question about graphics cards

#1 Posted by odinsmana (982 posts) -

So I am building a PC for the first time. My goal is to be able to play current games and continue to play current games for at least a couple of years. I also want to try and keep it somewhat affordable. The thing I need help with then is picking what video card to buy. The price difference between a 1050 and a 1080 is pretty gigantic, so I was wondering if it`s necessary/worth it to go for a high end card or if a card somewhere in the middle can fulfill my purpose just as well.

So my question is what video card you guys would recommend if I want to build an affordable computer that can keep up with current games for at least a couple of years (though I don`t need to play them on the very high settings, just be able to play them and have them look relatively nice)?

Sorry that this post was kind of a mess. I am a real novice when it comes to these kinds of things, but hopefully you guys get what I am asking. Thank you!

#2 Edited by Stonyman65 (3805 posts) -

Either a 1060 or 1070. Those are the "sweet spot". However, if you are running at a large resolution (ultra wide or 4k) and/or at a high refresh rate, a 1080 might be best.

#3 Edited by OurSin_360 (6137 posts) -

A 1060 will probably do you good at 1080p for a good while, 1070 is a safer bet and can currently do 1440p with a lot of games, a 1080 is for 1440p and ultra wide, and the 1080ti is the closest single card for 4k atm. I think graphics cards are moving on up to 4k as a goal so for 1080p it's becoming pretty affordable. BUT I believe prices are still being gouged right now so it doesn't seem like the best time to be building pc's if on a budget , bitcoin mining and cellphone ram are fucking us over .

#4 Posted by onarum (3212 posts) -

Yeah, either a 6GB 1060 or a 1070

#5 Posted by GundamGuru (786 posts) -