Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Best way to upgrade my computer?

Redsox44

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By Redsox44

My computer isn't fantastic for gaming, but it's pretty decent. Specifically I have an APU, an A6-3600 with an AMD Radeon HD 6530D GPU. I'm a noob to PC gaming and don't know much about proper ways to upgrade but I'm pretty sure I can't just stick the highest end graphics card out there and expect everything to be great. I would like to improve my performance in games at the 1600x900 resolution I play at and I frequently play more demanding games in a 1280x720 window just to get a playable performance. I'd love to just get a completely powerful new gaming PC but don't have the money for that so working with I have will have to do.

So if any more tech savvy people can give me suggestions on how to go about this I'd appreciate it.

Specifically this is the exact computer I have http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c03072349&lang=en&cc=us&taskId=101&contentType=SupportFAQ&prodSeriesId=5151865&prodTypeId=12454

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#2  Edited By Justin258

Have you replaced that power supply? It's only 300 W; if you get a better graphics card you'll probably need a better one of those as well.

I'd say that a new graphics card would make that computer better, though the processor isn't exactly much to brag about and will probably end up being your bottleneck.