Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Buying a Gaming PC

IAmNotBatman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By IAmNotBatman

So I've put a bit of money aside and am finally willing to take the plunge into non-retro PC gaming. I have never built one before and was hoping you guys can help me get on the right track, it's worth mentioning that I'm willing to make it myself (providing I have all the pieces of course) as it's obviously cheaper than buying a pre-built gaming PC. The budget is a nice and tidy £1000 (approx $1565 according to Google) and I will also need a Monitor with that money.

If you were going to ask "What kind of games do you plan on playing?" my answer would be "The latest and greatest my friend".

Any advice is appreciated. Maybe ask yourself what you would buy in my situation?

cronus42

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By cronus42

@IAmNotBatman:

Well you're coming in at a pretty good time, Ivy bridge just launched and the prices are right around where the sandy bridge are still sitting. And just like the previous gen I would go with the unlocked i5 3570K. Great speed great price, no real need for the 8 cores on the i7.

For motherboard, i would suggest an ASRock. I'M a little biased towards them, but that's just because mine has worked so incredibly well. I would go with either their extreme4 or extreme6 models for Ivy Bridge. The difference being about $40 in price, with the extreme6 having better heatsinks on the MoBo and better voltage regulators if you decide to get into heavy overclocking.