Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Buying a new laptop, sooo many choices

Avatar image for physicalscience
    physicalscience

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So I am in my last semester at my university and I am looking at getting a new laptop seeing as the current one that I own I bought around 4ish years ago for $350. It's an Asus core i3, 4 gigs of ram, and a shockingly awesome track pad.

For the past year I was lucky to work remote for a company which gave me access to a pretty awesome work laptop but that contract ended... and it turns out my wifi chip on my old Asus is garbage which is putting me in the market for buying something in the next twoish weeks.

I have been flirting between a laptop that can handle a few games here and there (mostly things like civ 6 and a few other not so super demanding games) and an ultra portable like the hp spectre x360.

Just wondering if there is anyone out there with any specific recommendations? a price range of around $800-$1300 is pretty much what I am looking for and as I am a software engineering major the comfort of the keyboard is a huge deal to me.

Thanks in advance!

Ry_Ry

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Ry_Ry

My default recommendation is the Surface line, expect for the keyboards aren't the best.

For myself, I have a HP Stream 11 netbook ($99) for light work use, and an i3 Alienware Alpha ($350) for PC games.
    Work provides a Surface Pro 3 for all my normal work.

traglin

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers