Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Good games for short breaks

trylks

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 8

#1  Edited By trylks

I am searching for a PC game that I can play in short periods of time. For example, FTL is great, but I have been playing it for the last two years and I could use some other game now. Good characteristics:

1. It is a good game, and not addictive like heroin (e.g. I may prefer not to try HearthStone)
    2. Executes windowed (on a window, not using the full desktop), it's easy to alt-tab and do something else. No controller needed.
    3. Easy to pause at any time (in fact, all the time), and issuing commands while paused is possible (mini metro is also good, I have it on the phone). Turn based may be good too.
    4. It is playable even when being near braindead. Sure, it takes attention and decision making, but reflexes and skills with the controls are not necessary.
    5. Separate battles/events so it is easy to stop a "session" anytime.
    6. Starts fast, and does not require many resources (so I do not have to close everything else on my computer)

FTL may be unique in these traits, but before giving up on searching for a substitute, I thought I would ask. Recommendations of Android games are welcome, but I have given up on searching in that area.

Thank you.

BTW: I do not like Into the Breach, it seems to involve too much thinking between turns.

PS: if there is nothing I will just embrace full fledged games like StarCraft 2, when possible (hopefully by November...)

PD: Browser based games could also be suitable, I do not think there is anything good there either.

DodoBasse

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0