Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

My hard drive failed, give me some hot tips

Avatar image for adequatelyprepared
    AdequatelyPrepared

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey all, press F to pay respects to my hard drive on my gaming PC, which committed seppuku earlier today in the morning. To be fair, I was tempting fate quite a bit, as I had been using the same HDD for well over 5 years now. It's likely to be a mechanical failure. Something may be salvageable if I plug it into an external cradle, but seems like there's no way I'll get it working as a boot device again (even Windows refuses to do a reinstall on it when I boot from disc). At the very least I can count myself lucky that I separated my work from gaming long ago, and there was nothing of genuine importance on that PC.

Anyway, I'm treating this as an opportunity to finally buy a new HDD and an SSD for the first time. Here's the parts list of the place I'm likely to be buying from : http://cdn.msy.com.au/Parts/PARTS.pdf. Internal HDD is straight-forward for me, but I have no idea with regards to SSDs. I'm just looking for something that functions well and is large enough to have the Windows install placed on it. Thanks in advance, and feel free to tell me anything else you think I should try to do with my PC seeing as I am already at this point.

pjgut

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

My hard-drive died on me a few months back and so I got one of the Samsung 850 EVO SSD (500GB, so that's $205 on your pdf sheet) and I'm happy with it.