Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

So I'm thinking about making a new rig by myself at the end of this year.

M_Shini

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

With all the new Gfx cards coming out, and my Fiancee liking the idea of using a pc to do our gaming together with, i figured it was a good time to make a new rig, all i have ever done and install a new gfx card for crossfire before and a new ssd, so i have no real making a pc fresh out of the box experience.

This http://www.pcgamer.com/pc-build-guide-high-end-gaming-pc/ was the build i was going to start from (feel free to critic their build since i have no solid experience with every component and what works well overall.) and i am going to try and put it all together myself since it seems a tad cheaper and possibly fun in the process.

Now i do have a few questions though.

• Do i need to buy extra things like special cables and connects?
    • Cable management, is that a thing? Is there a right and a wrong way to do it?
    • Any do or die tips and tricks that i should know before i go ahead and slap all this shit together?
    • Is putting all these components together pretty simple nowadays?

I'm sure we've all seen a post like this before, but any help and advice is appreciated!

Dave_Tacitus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#2  Edited By Dave_Tacitus

The only cables you'll have in your case are those running from the PSU and a SATA 3.0 running from the hard drive to the motherboard (EDIT - And the optical drive, if you're using one). Sometimes HDs include SATA cables, sometimes not, but they're dirt cheap and it's handy keeping a few in reserve in case you want to upgrade your storage options.