Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PlayStation 3

Platform »

The PlayStation 3 (often abbreviated PS3) is the third home video game console created and released by Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.

Playing Blu-Ray on a Computer Monitor?

mjdailey

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By mjdailey

So, i have had my PS3 for a while but i still dont know if i can watch BLU-Ray on my monitor. When i try and play my metal gear solid 4 bonus disk it gives me a black screen and audio no video.

I have a Samsung SyncMaster 225BW with a 1680 x 1050 resolution, and i have it conected to my PS3 with a HDMI cable with a HDMI to DVI converter on it.

So is there anyway to fix the settings or get a different cable or anything so i can watch blurays?

StaticFalconar

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

#2  Edited By StaticFalconar

Don't know what to say, I have played many blue rays on my LCD monitor just fine.

got a 24" westinghouse, not that it helps you.

KamasamaK

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 12

#3  Edited By KamasamaK

The only reason I could think of that would cause a problem with a monitor would be HDCP-related, but after quickly looking it up right now it appears that your monitor supports it. I suppose your converter could be messing with it, but that doesn't seem too likely.

mjdailey

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By mjdailey

Yeah i know its werid games work perfect nothing wrong just when i try to watch the Metal gear bonus bluray

Avatar image for deactivated-6406b1cb85b6d
    deactivated-6406b1cb85b6d

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 11

Have you tried running the movie in 720p? I believe when you use a HDMI to DVI adapter you are breaking the HDCP handshake. I also run my PS3 on a DVI LCD monitor but only at 720p as the monitor only goes to 1050p max.

mjdailey

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By mjdailey