So maybe no one here knows *this* about the closing cinematic...

#1 Posted by dudeglove (13706 posts) -

[Spoilers obviously, but they're not that bad]

...or if you're a complete Portal nut, then you do. 

When heading up the lift after the 'Lunacy' moment and are greeted by the turrets, you are treated to a quick ditty sung by Ellen McLain (if you weren't already aware, she is an opera singer by profession) who voices GLaDOS and the turrets. What sounds like vague humming is actually Italian (again with the opera thing), and here are the lyrics:

#Cara bel, cara mia bella. Mia bambina, a tra che la stima che la stima. A cara mia, addio! Mia bambina cara, perche non passi lontana si lontana da scienza? Cara cara mia bambina. A mia bel. A mia cara. A mia cara. A mia bambina. A cara, cari a mi!#    

Translated (poorly) into English, you are given the following.

#My dear, beautiful darling, my child that I admire. To my dear, farewell! My dear girl, why not walk far away from science? My dear, dear girl. To my lovely. To my dear. To my dear. To my child, My dear, dear to me!#

And there you have it, further proof regarding the relationship between GLaDOS and Chell.
#2 Posted by RobinOttens (35 posts) -

Wow, that's pretty cool actually. I knew they were singing something, just couldn't hear if it was in english or not.

#3 Posted by RoboRobb (1094 posts) -

Thanks for the insight, interesting!

#4 Posted by Red12b (9362 posts) -

ohfuck

#5 Edited by xyzygy (10595 posts) -

So Chell could be Caroline's daughter? Maybe even Cave and Caroline's daughter?

It would fit with the "Bring your daughter to work day" and the whole adopted thing. Caroline may have adopted Chell or maybe Caroline gave her up for adoption.
#6 Posted by zagzagovich (835 posts) -
@xyzygy:
Oh shit. I completely forgot about the adopted thing. Mind blown. They really thought it out, didn't they?
#7 Posted by Rockdalf (1328 posts) -