Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Resident Evil 5

Game » consists of 38 releases. Released Mar 05, 2009

Resident Evil 5 follows series alum Chris Redfield as he journeys into West Africa with his new partner, Sheva Alomar, fighting Las Plagas-infested enemies called the Majini.

I Played RE5...and I Think You Might Be Surprised...

jakob187

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 9

Edited By jakob187

I've been a fan of the Resident Evil franchise for years.  I remember the first time I plugged in Resident Evil on my Sega Saturn and couldn't save the game because the "memory cards" (read: Genesis-like cartridges) wouldn't save my data for some reason.  The many nights of staying up for hours on end just to beat the game led to speed-running it with little to no problem.  Resident Evil 2 led to the same thing, with me and an old friend trading off speed-runs.  Resident Evil 3 was alright, but the split story didn't really sit well with me.  Resident Evil 4 was a bit of perfection, as it revamped everything I hated about the previous games after a while (fixed camera angles for a fixed over-the-shoulder camera, slow-moving unintelligent zombies that can be mostly avoided for faster-moving, limb-specific-damage, intelligent zombies, and a weapon upgrade system done by a humorous dood with a crazy memorable voice).  When I ran BonusStage, and RE4 came out on GameCube, it was the only game we EVER gave a perfect score.  It was too good to be true.

Fast-forward to the RE5 launch.  My roommate's b/f picked it up (as he works at Blockbuster, so he didn't have to pay for it).  I sat back and watched him and a buddy play the co-op.  Boredom ensued.  I couldn't get into it.  So many of the things that I had heard promised didn't seem to exist:
    • Heat exhaustion
    • Faster zombies
    • More limb-specific damage than RE4