Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Returnal

Game » consists of 4 releases. Released Apr 30, 2021

A roguelike third-person shooter from Housemarque.

Returnal 3.0

Avatar image for atheistpreacher
    AtheistPreacher

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By AtheistPreacher

They just did a 20-minute showcase of the new endless mode arriving with the free version 3.0 update coming on Tuesday, March 22:

I'll at least give it a shot, but not sure it'll actually draw me back in. Haven't played since I cleared the game (all endings) last year, it just felt like there was nothing else to do with it and runs did tend to feel kind of samey. I don't know that an endless mode will actually fix that.

noboners

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Coincidentally, I started playing this again a few weeks ago but am still just kind of ramming my head against world 3.

My main issue with the main game has been that I'm afraid to try out new weapons deep in a run because I've already invested 30 minutes to finally get back to world 3, I'm not going to suddenly try and learn how to use a rotland gobber when I'm also trying to learn the enemy patterns. So I'm hoping that this lower stakes "endless" mode will allow me to practice a bit without also trying to progress.

**I haven't actually watched that video yet since I'm on my phone. So I'm just speculating on what I saw of it earlier.

The_Nubster

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 1

@noboners: This has been kinda my problem with a lot of newer roguelikes. The investment in a more sprawling map a la Dead Cells or a Neon Abyss or Returnal makes the runs feel really bloated and discourages variety. The longer a run goes, the more of an archetype players are put into.

glots

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers