No recent wiki edits to this page.


In the Legend of Zelda series, there is a recurring concept known as the sages of Hyrule. The identities of the sages differ depending on the generation, often drastically, and are not specifically connected by genetic lineage. The sages are charged with the task of protecting Hyrule and the Sacred Realm from the forces of evil, and in the process are frequently aided by and aid Link.

Ocarina of Time

In Ocarina of Time, Link must find and awaken the sages in the adult Link part of the game. The first sage is Rauru, who is already awakened and talks to Link immediately after his seven year slumber. The remaining five sages that Link must awaken are:

Although they are often referred to as the "six sages," Princess Zelda is said to be their leader and a sage herself, making her the seventh sage. Some believe the seven sages share a connection to the seven wise men; the ancestors of the seven maidens that Link must rescue in A Link to the Past.

With the exceptions of Impa and Zelda, the names of the sages were taken from town names in Zelda II: The Adventure of Link. Chronologically, this means that the towns were named after the sages.

The Wind Waker

In The Wind Waker, there are stained glass paintings depicting the sages from Ocarina of Time in the room where the Master Sword is found, as well as a stained glass portrait of Ganon and the Triforce.

Twilight Princess

In Twilight Princess, the sages look identical to each other, with the exception of their symbol. The symbols are the same as those used by the sages in Ocarina of Time. They are faceless figures who wear masks, which are said to look similar to the faces of the Giants in Majora's Mask. Their true identities are never revealed.

A Link Between Worlds

In A Link Between Worlds, the seven sages, in addition to Zelda, are targeted by Yuga and transformed into paintings, which he uses to summon and merge with the spirit of Ganon. The latter portion of the game sees Link travel through seven dungeons in order to rescue each of the sages in turn. When all seven are freed, they unite their power to present Link the Triforce of Courage.

The seven sages of this generation are:


This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.