Shade: Wrath of Angels last edited by fisk0 on 08/27/19 03:32PM View full history


Shade: Wrath of Angels is a 2004 Microsoft Windows and Xbox game produced by Black Element Software and published by Cenega. The original name was Nefandus, but later was changed to Shade: Wrath of Angels before its release. The history revolves around an ancient war between angels and gods.


Shade: Wrath of Angels is a third-person adventure game where players play as a nameless protagonist who must fight off various creatures while looking for his brother. The player must travel across different dimensions with 4 different chapters to complete. It has many action/adventure elements seen in some games like Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia etc, players can ledge grab and jump across a gap. Players can use variety of weapons like a pistol, a crossbow and a magic sword. Players can also use magic to kill several enemies like, Medieval England knights, demons, zombies and Egyptian warriors.


 Get away from me, you bastards!
 Get away from me, you bastards!
The game starts with a tutorial to explain various aspects of the game.
The tutorial goes on as the player sleeps, and he plays the tutorial in his dream. After the completion of the tutorial, the player goes to a town on receiving an invitation from his brother 'B'.  On his latter 'B' has claimed to have discovered an important archaeological site, which appears to be a very primitive one. But on reaching the town, the player is amazed to find out that nobody is anywhere. 
He reaches the Hotel where his brother has written to be boarded. But on reaching the Hotel, he finds nothing but a pistol left by his brother for him. He decides to check the Church but on his way downstairs, he is stunned to see a zombie, in the lobby. 
He however shoots the zombie and goes to the Church, only to encounter two more walking dead therein. After dealing with them, he finds a secret passage and moves into it to descend down and finds an orb. After the player comes out of the room with the orb, a misty figure appears and reveals to him a fearful secret. 
The figure reveals to the player that he is the angel of Faith, and the orb he is carrying is the heart of the angel. 
The Angel of Faith asks the player to release the other three angels to bring his brother back. When the player agrees, the Angel gives him the her loyal servant, a single-eyed red demon to help him on his quest. 
The player is teleported by the angel to each of the three worlds where the pieces of the hearts of the other three angels are kept, the first being in the world of undead knights (themed on a medieval period with walking dead, the zombies and undead knights), the second being in the Pyramid of Egyptian God Seth (themed on pyramids, with living statues, mummies and undead worshippers of mighty Seth) and the third being in the world of eternal darkness, the 'Shadowland' (themed on a shadowy plain with creatures of darkness everywhere). 
But on collecting the three hearts of the angels and reunifying them, the angel of Faith reappears and reveals herself to be the dark angel, who opposed the Gods and set the war between the four worlds. The player vows to stop the evil by breaking all the hearts of the angels, but the other three good angels appear and ask the player to destroy the demon, who helped him on his quests. 
The player kills the demon with his magic sword, and the good angels trap the angel of Faith. The angels then reveal to him that his brother's soul is sealed and can not be made to live again. The angels then transform the player to an immensely powerful guardian, to protect all the four hearts of the angels with his magic sword till the end of time.


  • Intro / Tutorial
  • Railway Station
  • Hotel
  • Church
  • Underground
  • Deserted Town I
  • Deserted Town II
  • Castle Ruins I
  • Castle Ruins II
  • Burning Town
  • Necropolis
  • Necropolis Temple
  • Spiders' Nest
  • The Tower
  • Ancient Crypt
  • Temple of Seth
  • Temple of Seth II
  • The Host of Serqet
  • The House of Osiris
  • The Hypostyle Hall
  • The Scales of Maat
  • The Fields of Peace
  • The Descent to Darkness
  • The Descent to Darkness II
  • The Portal
  • The First Encounter
  • The Gate
  • The Bridge
  • The Swamp
  • The Machine
  • Grand Finale


Album Cover Artwork
Album Cover Artwork
The original score for Shade: Wrath of Angels was composed by Jaroslav Kasny and is available for download at the game's official website.
Track No.
Song Title
Running Time
 Main Theme
 Dark Ages Explorations
 Lord of the Undead Knights
 The Town
 The Tower
 Leaving the Medieval
 The Egypt Journey, pt. 1
 Boss and Spiders
 The Egypt Journey, pt. 2
 The Second Pylon
 The Shadowland
 Chasm of Eternity
 Final Fight
 Bonus Track 1
 Bonus Track 2
 Bonus Track 3 - from trailer

PC System Requirements

Minimum Requirements

  • Operating System: Win 98SE, ME
  • Processor: Intel PIII - 700 MHz
  • Memory: 128 MB RAM
  • Video Card: 32 MB GeForce2
  • Sound Card: SoundBlaster compatible sound card
  • Hard Disc: 2 GB free space on HDD

Recommended System Requirements

  • Operating System: Win 2000, XP
  • Processor: Intel P4 - 2 GHz
  • Memory: 512 MB RAM
  • Video Card: 256 MB GeForce4
  • Sound Card: EAX compatible sound card
  • Hard Disc: 4 GB free space on HDD 

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.