Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Silent Hill

Franchise »

Silent Hill is a survival horror game franchise that revolves around the tourist town of Silent Hill; its dark link with the occult and its co-existence with its two other-dimensional forms, "Otherworld" and "Nowhere".

Silent Hill Games. Console or PC?

crusader8463

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 5

So my girlfriend wants to play through the main line silent hill games, and I see there's about a million different ways to get them. I have no experience playing these games myself so I was wondering what the best platforms to play them on are? Are the PC ports all broken garbage? Or will I need to find the old console versions? Do the PC ports all have controller support?

Corevi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 4

#2  Edited By Corevi

The PC version of 2 (the only good Silent Hill) is fine but the fog and the shadows look worse than the PS2 version.

The PC versions of 3 and 4 have the usual Japanese PC port problems (bad controls, very selective controller support, locked framerate).

If you have a powerful enough PC I'd recommend just emulating the PS2 versions.

Make_Me_Mad

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 11

I played SH3 on both the PS2 and the PC, and they were both fine. The PC version of Silent Hill 3 is fantastic looking and very well optimized. SH2 I've only played on the PC, and it was also pretty much fine there; had a weird issue where it wouldn't run correctly at first but a few google searches/option changes later it ran just fine, and this was on an absolutely terrible old computer.

hassun

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By hassun

Might as well play them on PC if you can get them. Unless a hassle-free experience is very important to you. In that case go PS2 or Xbox (not for 3 of course).

Atwa

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3