Follow

SpellTower

Game » consists of 2 releases. Released Nov 17, 2011

A word puzzle game for iOS, Android, and Mac. Swipe letters to create words in four gameplay modes.

The Path to Better Touch Controls

patrickklepek

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By patrickklepek
    Spelltower is an incredibly addictive word puzzler for iOS with an equally terrific touch interface.
    Spelltower is an incredibly addictive word puzzler for iOS with an equally terrific touch interface.

"I'm not a scientist," declared SpellTower developer Zach Gage during his afternoon session at the Game Developers Conference.

He's done very little research, too. Instead, Gage has made a bunch of games, played a bunch of games, and was now here to tell a bunch of developers how to do make better touch controls.

Despite what you might assume, Gage's "Controls You Can Feel: Putting Tactility Back Into Touch Controls" talk was not 30 minutes of Gage railing against developers using virtual buttons.

(He thinks Super Crate Box works pretty well.)

The key to good controls, whether touch or physical, is player confidence. When the player employs controls in the game, the controls need to work. Developers have to aim for their controls to work 100% of the time, not 80% of the time. "Good enough" is a common standard in iOS development, and Gage argued the remaining 20% is key to success--yes, even commercially.

Gage pointed to one of the industry's most imitated games: Super Mario Bros. Even if a user has never played Super Mario Bros. before, it only takes a tiny bit of experimentation before everything clicks. When the player presses A, Mario jumps. When the player presses right on the d-pad, Mario moves right. He doesn't jump 80% of the time, and he doesn't run 80% of the time. He runs and jumps 100%. It works.

"When players make gestures or moves, those things should feel good," said Gage.